Time Management Failure


Mentoring PresentationOur club had its New Member Meet and Greet meeting today.  We had some refreshments, which is out of the ordinary for us.

The agenda was a bit less structured than usual for today’s meeting.  We didn’t have any prepared speeches or evaluations, just a longer Table Topics session, which was nice in that it allowed more people to take part; and one of our new members won Best Table Topic Speech.

Of course, I also presented the Mentoring Presentation for my Advanced Leader Bronze.  It seemed to go well.  Unfortunately, I misjudged how much time it would take to present, so we ran out of time in the meeting and I wasn’t able to finish it.

My plan is to re-present it next month.  We’ve rearranged the schedules for some upcoming meetings and I will be trying again.  We’ll schedule the presentation before the Table Topics this time to make sure we don’t run over time.

I’ll be presenting my second AL Presentation in November.  It will be Moments of Truth, it involves breaking into groups and evaluation how the club is doing in a number of areas.

Update on our Member Renewals: They went out in the mail yesterday and are on their way to World Headquarters (WHQ).  They may not make it there by tomorrow.  But, good news, I double-checked the guidelines in the Distinguished Club Plan Manual and we actually have until October 10th to have them in, so we should make it easily.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

3 Responses to Time Management Failure

  1. Don’t worry, it happens to all of us sooner or later. I’ve done a few of those long scripted manual speeches, and my advice is to ad-lib where necessary to move things along. They don’t need to be “read” word-for-word. 🙂

    • I think my problem was actually too much ad-libbing. I’ll try to keep it tighter next time.

  2. Pingback: Moments of Truth « On Language

What do you think?

