The Lovely Runner-up


Dan holding his 2nd Place CertificateFirst, a correction to yesterday’s post.  There were three contestants in today’s Humorous Speech contest, not two.

That being said, I’m proud to say that I won Second Place.

As it turns out, the First Place winner is busy next weekend, so as the runner-up, I will be competing in the Division Contest next Saturday!

My speech: “Bugs!” got a lot of laughs, which was the point.  I hung around after the contest talking with the other contestants and guests.  I got some excellent advice on how to make my speech funnier from the woman who won First Place (and she totally deserved it; her speech was hilarious).

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

4 Responses to The Lovely Runner-up

  1. Jen says:

    Dan…I have some serious trouble believing anyone could be more hilarious then you. She OBVIOUSLY bribed the judges!

    • Thanks, Boo! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Speech Contest Update « On Language

  3. Pingback: The Lovely Runner-Up Moves Forward Again! « On Language

What do you think?

