Down to the Wire/Division Contest


I just checked the status of my club’s October Renewal.  As of this morning, the status is still: “Arrived – not verified – 10/06/10”.

Hopefully, Headquarters will complete the verification today as I doubt they work on the weekends and the deadline is Sunday.

We have two Distinguished Club points riding on the renewals getting in: Our renewal point and our second new member point.

Worst case scenario, if the renewal isn’t completely processed in time, we’ll still get the new member point, but not the renewal point (since that is dependent on the renewal being completed in time).

Even if we don’t get the renewal point in October, we’ll have another chance to make it in April.  We’ll just take it as a lesson learned and make sure to get our April renewals in earlier. I’m thinking of setting the goal of getting them in the mail by March 1st.

On another note, tomorrow is the Division Humorous Speech Contest at Regent University which, you’ll recall, I am competing in.  The contest starts at 9:00 AM.  Wish me luck! And, if you can make it there, I’d love the support.

I’ll be presenting my “Bugs!” speech  again and will be trying to incorporate some of the advice I got last Saturday from the 1st place winner of the Area contest.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

2 Responses to Down to the Wire/Division Contest

  1. Jen says:

    Dan – I won’t be able to make it tomorrow but Danny, Megan, and I will still be cheering you on. Don’t forget to breath! And big hugs!!!

  2. Thanks, Boo. I’ll let you know how it goes. I hope my desire to do well isn’t just nympholepsy. 🙂

What do you think?

