Eastern Division Contest Update


Contest AgendaToday’s Humorous Contest was a lot of fun and a great experience.  I did not finish in the top three, so I don’t know where I placed among the ten contestants.

A Toastmaster from Area 13, my area, did take third in the Evaluation Contest.

I had a great time and wasn’t as nervous.  This whole contest experience has taught me a lot.  I was able to talk to more experienced Toastmasters and get tips and advice and I’ve been able to watch truly incredible speakers in action.

On top of that, the speeches were just hilarious!  I was laughing all morning.

The first speaker talked about getting paranoid from watching horror movies and how the Chucky movies have caused her to distrust her child’s

 

He climbs up a hill just as quick as can be......

Image via Wikipedia

 

Spongebob Squarepants doll.  I could totally relate and thought it was possibly the best of the speeches.  She’s a member of the Toastmasters club at the Newport News Shipyard, so I know they have one. (subtle hint for my friend who works there about becoming a Toastmaster).

Even though I didn’t win, I am very glad to have competed and feel it was totally worth my time.  I even got this cool certificate:

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

3 Responses to Eastern Division Contest Update

  1. darksidjen says:

    You go Dan! I am so proud of you 🙂 I will pass along the “hint” to the intended party.

  2. bohemiangirl says:

    Two snaps up! You go, boy! Yay!

    • Thanks!

What do you think?

