Back in the Saddle


Today was our first club meeting in October.

It’s only been two weeks since our last meeting, but it felt like I had been away for a long time.  I can only guess that, having two weeks of extra-club contests in a row between the meetings has taken me out of the club meeting mindset.

This was also the first meeting after we had the table at the job fair and we had eight new guests join us!

Today’s speaker was our contestant in the Area Evaluation Contest.  She was performing project 7 from the Competent Communicator manual: Research Your Speech.

She was apparently so impressed with what she saw at the contest that she chose Evaluations as her topic and shared what she had learned at the contest.

 

the sixth blot of the Rorschach inkblot test

Image via Wikipedia

 

One of our new members ran table topics and gave each speaker a Rorschach ink blot and had them give a speech about their impressions.

As an update, World Headquarters is still processing our renewals, so I’m still waiting to see how the Distinguished Club Points fall out.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

2 Responses to Back in the Saddle

  1. darksidjen says:

    Could it be? Is there a typo in your post? : ) Is it supposed to be “Research Your Speech” instead of “Research You Speech?”

    And I am impressed! Eight new members is AWESOME! Do you even feed them? I always have to resort to blackmail or bribes to get people to come to my meetings…

    • Got me. That’s a typo. We had 8 guests. I hopefully they’ll decide to join and become members. And we only occasionally feed them.

What do you think?

