CC Speech 3: Get to the Point


The third project in Competent Communicator is Get to the Point.

In this project, you decide on the general purpose of the speech: to inform, to entertain or to persuade.  Next you choose a topic and specific goal of the speech and, using the skills practiced in Project 2: Organize You Speech, create a speech where every part works towards the goal.

Special care is to be taken to avoid extraneous information so that the speech is focused on the topic and purpose.

In this speech, you are encouraged to control any nervousness and to avoid using notes as much as possible.

For my third speech, entitled “Full on Geek Out”, I chose the general purpose: to inform.  My topic was: Superhero Movies.  And my specific purpose was: “After hearing my presentation, the audience will be able to name the difficulties and positive aspects of Comic Book movies.”

Being that this was a topic very near and dear to me, I was able to organize my speech without having to worry about remembering new information.

In the introduction, I established my “Geek Cred” by giving my background as a comic book fan.

My two points were:

  1. Problems with comic book movies
  2. Good things about comic book movies

Because I knew the topic so well and chose a simple structure for the speech, I was able to present it with using notes and with no visible nervousness.

I feel this speech was a real turning point in my journey to become a better speaker.  My confidence increased and I was able to power through the fear of presenting without the safety net of notes.

Competent Communicator Speeches

Organize Your Speech

Get to the Point

How to Say It

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

4 Responses to CC Speech 3: Get to the Point

  1. darksidjen says:

    Oooo! This sounds like a scintillating topic. I hope you will share when you are with me next!

    I am so glad you are achieving success as a speaker and I can’t wait to hear about the next step on your journey.

    • Thanks! I don’t think I presented anything in the speech that we haven’t already discussed. ­čÖé My next step is re-presenting the Mentoring presentation on the 27th and then giving my 7th Speech in November.

  2. Pingback: CC Speech 2: Organize Your Speech « On Language

  3. Pingback: CC Speech 4: How to Say It « On Language

What do you think?

