Second Time’s a Charm


Today, I had a do-over for the Mentoring presentation at our club meeting.

This time, with better planning, I was able to get through the presentation.

Hopefully, our club is now ready to start our mentoring program in earnest to help all our new member to get quickly up to speed and start participating and learning.  Plus, I’m now one step closer to my Advanced Leader Bronze.

All I have to do for my ALB is one more presentation, which I’ll discuss below, and four more speeches to get my Competent Communicator.  You’ll remember that the CC is a requirement for the ALB.

I’m planning to give my next speech on November 10.  The project is Research Your Topic.  I will keep the topic a secret until after I give the speech.

My second presentation that I mentioned earlier will be: Moments of Truth

This presentation is much more interactive.  It explores key activities and procedures that make up best practices of good Toastmasters clubs.  The topic is broken up into six areas:

  1. First Impressions
  2. New Member Orientations
  3. Fellowship, Variety and Communication
  4. Program Planning and Meeting Organization
  5. Membership Strength
  6. Recognizing Accomplishments

After the presentation and explanation of each of these topics, the club breaks out into groups based on each topic which then evaluate how well the club meets the goals presented.

The goal of this exercise is to evaluate how well the club is performing and to offer ideas for improvement.

I might have mentioned before that our club meets on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month and, on months with five Wednesdays, we try to do something special.

December this year has five Wednesday.  So, on December 29th, I will be presenting Moments of Truth.  Because the goal is to commit to improvement of the club, we will be calling the meeting our Toastmasters New Year’s Resolution meeting.  I’m really looking forward to it.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

3 Responses to Second Time’s a Charm

  1. Pingback: Table Topics Thursday Topic 8 « On Language

  2. Pingback: CL Project 9: Mentoring « On Language

  3. Pingback: Table Topics Thursday: Topic 11 « On Language

What do you think?

