CC Speech 4: How to Say It


The fourth project in the Competent Communicator manual is How to Say It.

The goal of this project is to give a speech using descriptive words and techniques such as alliteration, repetition, metaphors and similes to paint a picture with words, avoiding abstractions and jargon and keeping the images and language concrete.

My speech for this project was entitled: A Pleasant Evening.  I couldn’t think of a more clever title, but it suited my purposes.

When I initially put together the speech, I concentrated on evenings I had spent with friends watching my friend sing and play her guitar at the Pier Cafe in Virginia Beach.

I chose that as my main focus because those nights were intensely sensory experiences.  There were aspects of the evenings that lent themselves to vivid descriptions of sights, sounds, smells, tastes and tactile experiences.

When I started practicing the speech, I found that I was consistently going under the required five minutes.  I knew I needed to add more to it without making the addition seem artificially tacked  on.

At the time, work had been more stressful than usual and I was working hard to deal with it without letting it get to me too much.  Using that as inspiration, I decided to devote the first part of the speech to giving a vivid description of how the stress was affecting me.

I was able to integrate this into the speech by contrasting the stress of work with the calm of the evenings at the Pier Cafe. I transitioned between the two by describing how I was able to use the memory of more pleasant times to help me keep things in the proper perspective and battle back the effects of the stress.

I feel that adding the discussion of stress worked well with the contrasting description of the pleasant evening.

Competent Communicator Speeches

Get to the Point

How to Say It

Your Body Speaks

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

One Response to CC Speech 4: How to Say It

  1. Pingback: CC Speech 3: Get to the Point « On Language

What do you think?

