CC Speech 5: Your Body Speaks


The fifth project in the Competent Communicator manual is: Your Body Speaks.

The objective of this project is to use a combination of eye contact, facial expression and body language to enhance your speech.

My speech for this project was: “Bugs!”

In this speech, I described my aversion to bugs and shared anecdotes from my life where bugs have freaked me out.

I chose this topic for two reasons:

  1. I knew acting out my freak-outs would lend itself well to broad gestures and wild body language.
  2. I knew it would be a funny topic and planned to use it as my entry in my club’s Humorous Speech Contest (more on this in my next CC post).

I was a little unsure if the humor would come across well, even though I’m generally considered a funny guy.

It turns out that I had no reason to worry; the speech was very well-received and I got a lot of laughs.

Speaking for laughs was such a good experience, that I plan to do the Humorously Speaking manual when I go for my Advanced Communicator Bronze.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

4 Responses to CC Speech 5: Your Body Speaks

  1. Pingback: CC Speech 6: Vocal Variety « On Language

  2. Manish says:

    Hi, Can I request you to send me written speech copy? Would be grateful as I am also interested to make it a humorous speech.

  3. After my first or second speech, I stopped writing out the whole speech. What I tend to do is write out the introduction and conclusion and outline the body. From there, I work from the outline to lead me along what I want to say. So, short answer is I don’t have written copy for my speech. For the humorous speech, I relied heavily on stories I’m used in conversation many times. I hope this helps.

  4. Pingback: CC Speech 4: How to Say It « On Language

What do you think?

