CC Speech 6: Vocal Variety


The sixth project in the Competent Communicator manual is: Vocal Variety.

The goal of this project is to practice using variations of tone, volume and pacing to add interest to your speech.

For this project, I reprised my earlier speech: Bugs.

Toastmasters allows you to present the same speech for multiple projects, provided it fulfills the requirements for both projects.

The reason I used the same speech is because I was competing in our club’s Humorous Speech Contest and I had used the speech for project 5 as a dry run for the contest.

Because of the very emotive nature of the speech, I felt it would be a good fit for practicing vocal variety.

There were positives and negatives to the decision.

On the plus side, I do think that the speech did lend itself to both projects and I did use some vocal variety in my second presentation.

However, on the minus side, I think I would have focused better on the goal of the project had I not also been focused on competing in the contest.

As a result, I probably need to be more mindful of vocal variety in my future speeches since I didn’t get as much practice in this area as I could have.

That’s why Toastmasters is a learning experience.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

4 Responses to CC Speech 6: Vocal Variety

  1. Jen says:

    So Dan…are you recording any of these speeches? I would love to hear one and critique your vocal variety : ) I think I do a reasonably good job on this myself, but I could be delusional. I will have to read the “True Story of the Three Little Pigs” sometime to see if you agree!

  2. Nothing recorded yet, or really any plans to so in the future, but I’ll think about it. You did hear me read “When It Snow” (or whatever that book was named), that one time. I’d love to hear about the pigs; it sounds fascinating. 🙂

  3. Pingback: CC Speech 10: Inspire Your Audience « On Language

  4. Pingback: Special Occasion Speeches: The Roast « On Language

What do you think?

