CC Speech 7: Research Your Topic


The seventh project in the Competent Communicator Manual is: Research Your Topic.

The purpose of this project is to practice finding information from a variety of sources to support and enhance your speech.

My speech for this project was called: Speed Geeking.

In support of my speech, I researched Speed Geeking as thoroughly as possible to get background, supporting information on the topic for my speech.

In the speech, I opened with a quick introduction of the topic, drawing a parallel with speed dating, a more familiar concept, after which Speed Geeking was named.

I provided a description of the methodology of Speed Geeking as well as its benefits and challenges.  Then I gave a brief history and discussed different uses from my research.  I also discussed possibilities for using it in the context of a Toastmasters meeting.

When it came time to give the speech, I did not feel that I had prepared enough, but it went very well and was well-received.  I realized at that point, that this had happened before and that I often feel less prepared than I am.

With this new piece of self-awareness, I feel I can move past one more obstacle in my path to becoming a better communicator.

 

My eighth speech is scheduled for December 22, so I will be suspending these posts on the Competent Communication Manual until after that.  In the meantime, look for a series of posts detailing the projects of the Competent Leadership Manual, and my journey to that accomplishment.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

What do you think?

