CL Project 1: Listening and Leadership


This will be my first post discussing my journey through the Competent Leadership Manual.

The Competent Leadership Manual contains a series of ten projects designed to help Toastmasters develop and practice different leadership skills.  Each of the earlier projects entails serving in a variety of meeting roles; the later ones include working on projects outside of the club meeting to develop more advanced skills.

The first project is: Listening and Leadership.  The goal is to develop essential listening skills.

The requirements of this project are to perform three out of four of the following meeting roles: Speech Evaluator, Table Topics Speaker, Grammarian and Ah Counter.  Good listening skills are essential for each of these roles.

Because our club combines the Grammarian and Ah Counter into one role, I actually ended up performing three out of three roles for this project.

I performed as Ah Counter/Grammarian in one of our club’s first meetings, two weeks after we chartered as a new club.

For the Speech Evaluator role, I evaluated one of our first Competent Communicator‘s earliest speeches.  Her speech was about using Skype to keep in touch with her family.

The topic when I did my Table Topics speech was: For a superhero chosen at random, explain how you would use that hero’s powers for evil.  I picked Batman.  I started the speech by clarifying that Batman doesn’t have powers, but that I would use Bruce Wayne‘s wealth and influence to buy up companies and fire all the employees and then use the skills and gadgets of Batman to go out at night and fight superheroes.

I had a lot of fun and it was a great start on my way to becoming a Competent Leader.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

One Response to CL Project 1: Listening and Leadership

  1. charly says:

    Hi there,

    Are you still updating the posts of yours?

    I have discovered 12 grammatical errors.

    Warm regards,
    charly

What do you think?

