CL Project 3: Giving Feedback


The third project in the Competent Leadership Manual is: Giving Feedback

The goal of this project is to learn and practice the skills involved in providing helpful feedback to club members.  Providing well-thought out feedback, both constructive and reinforcing, is a key skill to have as a leader, and particularly as a Toastmaster in that it is the primary way to foster skill development in others.

One thing I have noticed when I have interacted with other, more experienced, Toastmasters is that they are extremely free with their feedback and good advice.  At first, I found it a bit disconcerting because I was not used to receiving such honest feedback.  I suspect that my reacting was probably not all that uncommon as feedback that is not praise can easily be mistaken for criticism and be taken as a blow to the ego.

Since then, I have really learned the value of constructive feedback, to the point that I find it more useful that praise.

For this project, the requirement is to perform the following meeting roles at separate meetings: Speech Evaluator, Grammarian and General Evaluator.

In each of these roles, I attempted to give feedback that would be helpful in reinforcing the good qualities I was evaluating in the individual speaker, in the word usage of all speakers and in the club as a whole for the meeting I was General Evaluator for.  At the same time, I balanced the, well-deserved, praise with specific advice and insight into areas that could be made better.

 

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

What do you think?

