Best Accomplishment of 2010


Today’s Post a Week topic is: What’s the single most important thing you accomplished in 2010?

2010 has been a very good year for me in Toastmasters.  I’m not sure if I could single out one thing. It would definitely be  one of the following:

  1. Being elected President of my club
  2. Making it to the Division Level in the Humorous Speech Competition
  3. Achieving the Competent Leader award

If you put a gun to my head and forced me to choose which of these I’m most proud of, I think I would choose the Humorous Speech Contest.  Even though I only made it to the Division Contest because the winner of the Area Contest couldn’t make it, it was an exceptional experience and I’m quite proud of coming in Second in the Area Contest.

It was a great learning experience competing against and getting pointers from more experienced speakers.

So now, I’m going to turn the question back to you.  Either answer in the comments or in your own blog and link back to this post.  I’m very interested in knowing: What’s the single most important thing you accomplished in 2010?

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

4 Responses to Best Accomplishment of 2010

  1. lunaticmum says:

    Well done on achieving CL. I still have a few speeches to go before I get there. I think I’m up to number 6 (I’m feeling too lazy to get up and check at the moment).

    I think my biggest accomplishment in 2010 has been not spanking my kids even once.

  2. lunaticmum says:

    Can’t figure out how to edit my comment, so I’m just clarifying here – I have a few speeches to go to achieve CC. I still have quite a ways to go on CL lol.

    • How far are you on your CL? Which projects have you done?

      • lunaticmum says:

        I’ve completed one project and have partially completed several others – still quite a ways to go, but I’ll get there!

What do you think?

