If you had a time machine that only let you spend one hour in a different time, what date would you go to?


Today’s suggested topic from WordPress‘ Post-a-Week is: If you had a time machine that only let you spend one hour in a different time, what date would you go to?

Despite the fact that the question ends in a preposition, it struck me as particularly apropos.

I was sick this week, which is a rarity for me.  As a result, I wasn’t able to make it to my Toastmasters meeting.  This is the first meeting I’ve missed since becoming President, not counting the one that was canceled when I was stuck in New York.

So, my answer, as trivial as it might be, considering the possibilities inherent in the question, is that I would spend the hour in this week’s Toastmasters meeting.  It seems perfect since the meeting is an hour long.

So, as usual when I answer one of the Post-a-Week questions, I am going to ask you, my readers, to give me your answers to it in the comments.  I’d love to hear your answers.

 

As a special benefit for a German-born reader of mine who has expressed some difficulty with the English, I am sharing a link to the Google translation of this site into German.  On Language (in deutscher Sprache) Not being a German speaker, I’ll have to let my reader report on its accuracy.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

4 Responses to If you had a time machine that only let you spend one hour in a different time, what date would you go to?

  1. Rajiv says:

    This was different. most of the bloggers will write a date personal to them. Yours was quite different, and it shows you approach towards life.
    great post keep blogging 🙂
    ciao
    http://rrajiv.wordpress.com/

    • Thanks. Toastmasters is kind of my obsession, so I felt it was personal to me, at least in recent history. 🙂

  2. Dave Folstad says:

    Challenging question – one that would be a challenge in a table topics question. The more I think about it; the harder to chose. Do I want to experience pre-historic times when we are told dinosaurs were dominant? Would I like to secretly attend my parents wedding when I was wink in my Mom’s eye? Could I meet Cleopatra, or Helen of Troy? Could I enjoy a sumptuous dinner and stroll on deck of the Titanic the eve of it’s demise? How about Woodstock? meet Napoleon during his exile years and walk on the beach to know this leader?
    So many choices but I will choose an hour in the library of Ephesus when Cleopatra visited. That way I will enjoy a beautiful library, meet or at least see an interesting historic figure and see an ancient city during its prime.

    • Thanks for the extremely well thought out comment. I knew my answer was quite pedestrian for the scope of the question. I appreciate how you took the time to explore the possibilities inherent in the question.

What do you think?

