Table Topics Thursday: Topic 2


This week’s Table Topics Thursday question is: What historical time period would you most like to visit?

Being a D&D/role-playing game geek, my first thought was to pick some time in the Middle Ages.  However, stepping out of the high-fantasy mindset of the games, I think back to all I’ve read about what day-to-day life was really like in those times.  Suddenly, that time seems a lot less appealing and a lot more smelly and dirty.  Of course, I wouldn’t know for sure until I actually visited, but I’m not sure I’d want to risk it.

My second thought was maybe going back to Ancient Rome.  Thinking that this time period might be a bit more sanitary, comparatively speaking.  It might be interesting to see with my own eyes how people lived at the time and hear native speakers of Latin.

But then, if I’m going to go back that far, I thought why not go back even further to Ancient Mesopotamia, to the first city-states and the beginnings of written language and civilization.  I could visit the schools and watch them use their styli to scratch cuneiform into clay tablets.

I suppose it would depend on how long the visit would be, but there are so many opportunities to gain first-hand experience, seeing things that have only been guessed at and written in history books.

My choice would be, Ancient Mesopotamia.  I’d like to witness the beginnings of writing and see the discovery and development of so many of the things we take for granted as having always been around.

So, now it’s your turn:What historical time period would you most like to visit?

My favorite answer, as is now the custom, will be posted next Thursday for all to see and appreciate.  Let’s hear what you think.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

6 Responses to Table Topics Thursday: Topic 2

  1. Katy says:

    alright just so you know i paid attention when you said to not just read but also comment. As for your question I’d pick sometime in the middle ages before my family decided to split and my side lost the fortune title to our castle and blood line – while the one on the Czech side (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/House_of_Schwarzenberg) blossomed that way I’d be still sitting in a castle enjoying live instead of working my butt of – now i know my jet setting life and living in nice hotels every week doesn’t sound like hard work to everyone …

  2. Awesome answer! Thanks for the comment. Cool link. I guess your family were some of the old Bohemians (as opposed to Edie Brickell’s group)

  3. Noel Byrne says:

    What a brilliant table topics question! I spent some time contemplating the high-points (and low-points) of civilization and thinking how extraordinary it would be to go back in time and experience these day-to-day realities first hand. I realized however, that being present at some pivotal historic moment would be even more amazing.

    I narrowed it down to two moments in history: the discovery of fire and the invention of the wheel. While observing fire in the natural (lighting, forest fires, volcanoes) may seem obvious, creating it on demand does not. How did that happen? Also the wheel… I imagine it made its first appearance, as logs being used as rollers to transport large stones, but then again, it’s hard to say.

    These are two incredible moments that changed the world forever. If I could go back in time, it would be to witness these two events and meet the people involved.

    • Awesome! Thanks for such a well thought-out answer! Welcome to the blog. I hope you stick around and enjoy it. I crave feedback, so please feel free to share your thought often.

  4. Dave Folstad says:

    This question is quite similar to the time machine/one hour previous question only this time you can visit. I am going to assume a visit means greater than one day but less than a month. The time is sufficient to allow a deeper assimilation of time and culture of time period and geography. I am torn between renaissance italy and the completion of the pyramids in Egypt. To potentially meet Leonardo Da Vinci. How wonderful it would be to watch him pick the marble that would become David or to walk through his workship and see his models, and engineering sketches. But how would that compare to the great pyramid when completed, replete in smooth marble gleaming at dawn? An accomplishment of magnitude at such a time we scarcely can contemplate the method of completion. Very tempting – I choose instead to go salmon fishing with the duke, John Wayne. I would like to spend a few weeks with him fishing off the coast of British Columbia in his converted minesweeper. An icon of his time which spanned silent movies to big motion pictures it would be fun to “shoot the bull” and pal around with him. That is my choice for a visit in time.

  5. Thanks for the great answer. I loved following your thought process and you included a lot of very interesting information in your answer!

What do you think?

