Table Topics Thursday: Topic 3


The winner of last week’s Table Topics contest will be announced later today in a separate post.  Stay tuned.

This week’s Table Topics question is: Is work valuable for its own sake?

My first thought with this question was that it is relatively straight-forward and easy.  On the surface, I took it to mean: would I still work even if I weren’t being paid for it.  The standard “you won the lottery” question.

While I do enjoy my job, I don’t think I love it enough to do it for free.  So I would answer no to that reading of the question.

Looking a little deeper into the question, I read it as: Is there something valuable I get from work that I can’t any other way.

My answer to that question is more positive.  I have found that when I’m away from work and idle for an extended period, such as a long vacation, I do start to miss it and begin getting a bit bored and stir-crazy.  I miss doing something productive with my time.

So I would say, yes, I do believe work has value for its own sake.  While I wouldn’t necessarily do my current job for free, I do get more than financial benefits from being active and feeling useful.

Now it’s your turn.  Let’s hear your opinions:  Is work valuable for its own sake?

As usual, my choice for best answer will be posted next Thursday.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

2 Responses to Table Topics Thursday: Topic 3

  1. Pingback: Table Topics Thursday Week 2 Winner! | On Language

  2. Pingback: Word of the Week Wednesday: Quixotic | On Language

What do you think?

