Table Topics Thursday Week 2 Winner!


I am proud to announce the winner of the first “Tabley” award for the best Table Topics Thursday answer.  The question was: “Is work valuable for its own sake?”.  There were several excellent answers and it was not an easy job picking just one.  I finally made my, admittedly subjective decision.

Everyone please join me in congratulating: Dave Folstad!

Congratulations, Dave!  An except from your answer will appear on the front page of this blog all week.

Without further ado, I present Dave’s answer in total:

This question is quite similar to the time machine/one hour previous question only this time you can visit. I am going to assume a visit means greater than one day but less than a month. The time is sufficient to allow a deeper assimilation of time and culture of time period and geography. I am torn between renaissance italy and the completion of the pyramids in Egypt. To potentially meet Leonardo Da Vinci. How wonderful it would be to watch him pick the marble that would become David or to walk through his workship and see his models, and engineering sketches. But how would that compare to the great pyramid when completed, replete in smooth marble gleaming at dawn? An accomplishment of magnitude at such a time we scarcely can contemplate the method of completion. Very tempting – I choose instead to go salmon fishing with the duke, John Wayne. I would like to spend a few weeks with him fishing off the coast of British Columbia in his converted minesweeper. An icon of his time which spanned silent movies to big motion pictures it would be fun to “shoot the bull” and pal around with him. That is my choice for a visit in time.

Great answer Dave!

Thanks to everyone who answered!  Don’t worry if you didn’t win this time.  You’ve got another chance to win a coveted “Tabley”.  Just answer this week’s Table Topics Thursday question.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

2 Responses to Table Topics Thursday Week 2 Winner!

  1. Dave Folstad says:

    Thanks for great question – when I see my haberdasher I will inform him of my modest victory. (chuckle)

    • I’ve been very pleasantly surprised at how popular haberdasher has been. I must have had eight people use it in conversation/comments with me.

What do you think?

