Table Topics Thursday: Topic 4


This week’s Table Topics question is: Which of your personality traits would you most like to change?

This week’s question calls for some real introspection (as if this blog wasn’t all about me enough).

I do try to be aware of and own up to my faults as much as I can.  That might be quixotic of me, because I’ve found that I can’t always see my own flaws.  I figure the best I can do is try my best and listen to people who care about me when they mention them to me without getting defensive.

All that being said, I would say the trait I am most aware of and have been working to change is my tendency to correct people.

I don’t know if it’s something I learned as a programmer or if it what lead me into programming as a career, but when I hear something factually incorrect, I have to fight the urge to correct it right away.

I’ve since realized that correcting small points in conversation really isn’t all that important, and that folks don’t like being nit-picked.

I’m sure that this probably isn’t my biggest fault, or most irritating trait by a long shot, but it’s the one the comes to mind as something about myself that I’ve been trying to change.

How about you?  Try your luck at winning a “Tabley”.  Which of your personality traits would you most like to change?

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

One Response to Table Topics Thursday: Topic 4

  1. Pingback: Table Topics Week 3 Winner | On Language

What do you think?

