Table Topics Thursday: Topic 5


This week’s Table Topics Thursday question is: When did your family come to this country and from where?

My family has only been in this country for around a hundred years.  So, while we’ve had a few generations here, we’re far from being members of the Mayflower Society.

My mother’s father came to New York from Ireland when he met my mother’s mother, who had immigrated from England.  He was born in 1902 and she was born in 1899.  I don’t know when they came to America, but I know they were living in the Bronx in 1930.

My father’s father came to America with his family from Latvia in 1907 when he was 3 years old.  He married my father’s mother whose grandfather was born in England in 1841 and lived in Manhattan in 1880.

Got all that?  Good.  How about you?  When did your family come to this country and from where?

From this point forward, I’ll be switching Table Topics Thursday’s to every other week to give everyone more time to mull over the questions and come up with answers.  I will also be posting each question on the home page for the whole two weeks.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

What do you think?

