Winter Officer Training


This Saturday, I will be attending the Winter session of Toastmasters officer training.

One reason to attend this training is that each club is required to have at least four officers attend each training session, one in Summer and one in Winter, in order to meet goal 9 of the Distinguished Club Program.

Other reasons to attend are spelled out in this article in Toastmasters Magazine.  Some of these include networking with Toastmasters outside of the club and getting new ideas.

Our Vice-President Public Relations had been struggling with finding the time and motivation to present speeches and promote the club; she came back from mid-year training completely re-energized.

She’s scheduled speeches until the end of the Toastmasters year and has been full to the brim with ideas for promoting the club.

The change was almost magical and it’s gotten me really excited to attend training.

I will post an update after training, as I’m sure I will be even more psyched to talk about Toastmasters than usual.

 

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

3 Responses to Winter Officer Training

  1. Dave Folstad says:

    I also have officer training this Saturday. Unfortunately one of the officers I believe could potentially benefit the most will not attend. Still I am looking forward to the event and then we will all be having some social time together at a restaurant. I scheduled the executive meeting next week so the event can be discussed again while fresh all together.
    Instead of a soap box for a fun event we held a secret celebrity wedding last week. Much like a table topics the speakers didn’t find out their character until the meeting and then they had a few minutes to prepare.
    The Toastmaster called it being willing to scare yourself by stepping into the room without preparation. The characters included Regis Philbin, Paris Hilton, Mr T, Dolly Parton etc – some laughs and then cake. All in fun, and an adventure in speaking.

  2. Incredible idea! Mind if I steal that for my club? Tell me more about the wedding. Which celebrities got married? Did you play a celebrity?

  3. Pingback: Training and Distinguished Club Program Update | On Language

What do you think?

