Word of the Week Wednesday: Shriek


This Wednesday’s word of the week is: Shriek

A shriek is a loud, shrill sound usually akin to a scream.

Although it has nothing to do with the etymology of the word, it almost looks like it could be a combination of shrill and scream.  It has a quasi-onomatopoetic quality to it.

Just the sound of the word makes me think of hysteria, maybe because it rhymes with the word, “eek”.  A word that itself can easily be shrieked.

It’s a simple word, but a powerful one.  What I love most is the amount of raw emotion packed into that one syllable.

I can almost hear it drawn out exaggeratedly: Shrieeeeeeeek!

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

5 Responses to Word of the Week Wednesday: Shriek

  1. sacil says:

    LOVE the PIC!! LOL

    • Check out the new video clip.

  2. dfolstad58 says:

    Still enjoying haberdasher but this week’s word was presented well. I have no reason to shriek here because I haven’t shovelled snow for a week.

    Here’s a word you might consider; skittish – which means nervous, or hesitant to my understanding.
    In a sentence: Everyone was enjoying the bbq eel sushi but I was a tad skittish.

  3. Skittish is a good word.

    I’ve had so many people suggesting words, trying to make Word of the Week Wednesdays that I might just put up a vote for favorite suggested word and do a post on the winner.

    • Mitch9 says:

      OoooO! How did I miss this post? And yes, you should do a vote on favorite recommended word 🙂

What do you think?

