Speech Contest Update


Yesterday, our club held its combination International Speech and Table Topics contest.

I didn’t compete because we had enough people willing and eligible that we were able to have some good competition and we needed another judge.

This was my first time actually judging a speech contest; I was Chief Judge for our first International and Table Topics contest last year and competed in our Humorous Speech contest.

Judging the speeches was a fun experience.  I was surprised at how subjective it was, but probably shouldn’t have been.

I was very aware during the scoring process of how I needed to overcome irrelevancies in my judging like whether the topic was one that appealed to me personally or whether the speaker was “due” a win and just concentrate on the quality of the speeches as objectively as possible.

That said, I think I did pretty well and had a very good time.

The winners of our contests will be going on to compete in the Area 13 contests on the 22nd of this month.  I’ll post another update after that.

There will be the first ever Club Meeting Contest at the Eastern Division contest on April 9th.  Three clubs in the Division will each hold a thirty-minute exhibition meeting after the speech contests and will be judged on the quality of their meetings.  I’ll post the judging criteria in a later post.  Our Area Governor will be judging our meeting on the 23rd during our second Area Governor visit to see if our club will be one of the three to compete.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

2 Responses to Speech Contest Update

  1. Pingback: Club Meeting Contest Requirements and Criteria « On Language

  2. Pingback: Judging Contests, Moments of Truth and more… « On Language

What do you think?

