Table Topics Thursday: Topic 7


Today’s Table Topics Thursday question is: What are the redeeming qualities of the person you most dislike?

This is a tough question to answer, likely by design.  But I feel it is ultimately a worthwhile one.  It’s too easy to take a dislike to someone and not give them another thought.

That’s probably a mistake.  I think it’s a good idea to take a deeper look at someone who might rub you the wrong way.  It may not end up in a friendship, and you might not even end up liking the person, but at least you’ll have looked past what might have been a superficial judgment.

So, no more stalling and talking about the question; it’s time to answer.

While I don’t dislike many people, there have been a few.  I find one person at work particularly annoying.  She has no sense of personal space and tends to corner people to talk at them.  It’s to the point where, if I see she has someone cornered, I’ll arrange to have that person called so they can escape.

I would say her redeeming quality would be friendliness.  She does seem like a genuinely nice person.  She seems to be very interested in connecting with people and, for all her talking at people, she does also occasionally take an interest in what they have to say.

Now that I’ve tackled the question, I would encourage each of you to give it a shot as well, even if you don’t answer in the comments.

What are the redeeming qualities of the person you most dislike?

Give it a shot.  You might even win a Tabley award.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

2 Responses to Table Topics Thursday: Topic 7

  1. dfolstad58 says:

    The redeeming qualities of the person I most dislike are actually many. She is very private and really the things that she does and don’t do are really not immense. My reaction to those things is really a over reaction. In the big or the small scheme of life; I should not be bothered so much by her.

  2. Pingback: Table Topics Thursday Topic 8 « On Language

What do you think?

