The Lovely Runner-Up Strikes Again!


Today was the First Club Meeting Contest that I’ve been talking so much about recently.

We took Second Place!

This actually came as a surprise to me as my club is just two years old and we were competing against much more experienced clubs, one of which is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year!

I found out today that there were six clubs across the district (Eastern Virginia) competing, the best three competing on stage today.  We originally came in fourth as so were not going to compete, but one of the original top three could not make it, so we were asked to compete.

We spent a very hectic week scrounging to fill all the necessary roles.

Competing was a lot of fun and the other two clubs were very impressive.  As an added bonus, we picked up a few practices that we might be including to improve our own meetings.  Particularly gratifying was that members of the other clubs mentioned aspects of our meeting that they plan to use!

Also, I don’t think I’ve mentioned before that the entire contest was taped to be used to market Toastmasters to prospective members!  We’ll be famous! 🙂

My friend, Jen, came to the contest to support me.  I’m very grateful for the support and she’s even now expressed interest in possibly joining a Toastmasters club after having seen a meeting.  (See, the marketing is already working!)

In closing, I want to thank the club members who participated and helped bring this honor  to our club.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

One Response to The Lovely Runner-Up Strikes Again!

  1. darksidjen says:

    Great show Dan! I am so proud of you and your club : ) It was very exciting to see how much fun a toastmasters meeting could be…even if that one lady was a little obsessive about proper English grammar!

What do you think?

