Table Topics Thursday Topic 9


This Thursday’s Topic is: If you could have any view from your back porch, what would it be?

I’m finding this one especially difficult for some reason.

I think the reason is that each of my immediate responses feel clichéd.

Whether it’s a beach view…

or a view of the woods…

or the mountains…

It all seems kind of trite.

That’s not to say that I would mind any of these views, but none of them really speak to me as especially wondrous and I’m sure there are more meaningful answers that wouldn’t feel so overused, but I can’t think of any at the moment.

If I had to choose, I would probably opt for the beach view.  I wouldn’t choose the mountains because I’m not particularly fond of heights and I would avoid the woods because I’ve been in cabins in the woods and the bugs were horrible.

I love the sights and smells of the beach and I’d love to be near it, as long as I didn’t need to walk on the sand too much.

So…maybe you’ve got a better answer.  Let me know: If you could have any view from your back porch, what would it be?

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

2 Responses to Table Topics Thursday Topic 9

  1. Dave says:

    This was difficult, you could chose any type of scenic view and those are all applicable. I am going to answer the best view would be of my family in the back yard. My family would be joking with each other, and there would be the musical tones of spontaneous laughter. My family would include parents, in-laws, brothers in law, my brother but it had to include my son, my daughter, her husband, and of course my lovely and patient wife of 31 years.

    • See, that’s the more meaningful answer I was talking about.

What do you think?

