CL Project 10: Team Building


I plan to complete my Competent Communicator Manual this coming Wednesday.  It’s the final requirement for achieving my Advanced Leader Bronze.

That being the case, there’s no better time than now to wrap up the retrospective of my journey through the Competent Leadership by presenting the tenth project of the Competent Leadership Manual: Team Building.

The purpose of this project, as the last one in the manual, is to use all the leadership skills practiced in the previous projects to put together a well-functioning team.

To complete this project, you need to either serve as Toastmaster and General Evaluator (in two separate meeting) or serve as one of the following:

  • Club Membership Campaign or Contest Chairman
  • Club Public Relations Campaign Chairman
  • Club Speech Contest Chairman
  • Club Special Event Chairman
  • Club Newsletter Editor or Webmaster

I chose to do Toastmaster and General Evaluator.

For Toastmaster, I emceed the special meeting we held for our Talk-Up Toastmasters! event.  I coordinated every part of the meeting to fit the theme of: “What Toastmasters has done for me.”.  This entailed coordinating the speeches, Word of the Day and Table Topics to match the theme.

For General Evaluator, I worked with the evaluation team, including the Speech Evaluators, the Grammarian and the Timer to makes sure everyone understood their jobs and worked together as a team.

So, this wraps up my Competent Leadership Manual series of posts.  My Competent Communicator Manual series will also be coming to a close soon.  I then start sharing my journey towards Advanced Leader Bronze.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

What do you think?

