Word of the Week Wednesday: obsequies


This Wednesday’s Word of the Week is: obsequies.

Obsequies is an archaic term meaning “funeral rites”.  It’s not really related in meaning to obsequious.

I had planned a cheerier word for this week, considering last week’s word.  I didn’t want two downer words in a row (since I have more planned in the future).

But, this is where my mind is going this week.  My dog, Sparky, died on Sunday.

He was a good dog and he’d been with me for twelve years.  I’ll miss him and wanted this week’s word to be in his honor.

I had him cremated and picked up his remains from the crematorium yesterday.

His ashes are on the credenza by the television in my bedroom.  This may not seem like the most honorable placement, but it’s safe from the cats knocking them over (I hope) and it’s where I’ll look at them every day.

Rest in peace, Sparky.  You were a good boy!

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

What do you think?

