Table Topics Thursday Topic 13


This Thursday’s Table Topics question is: What’s your favorite book and movie?

The question is book and movie, so it calls for two answers (unless it’s a book and the movie made of it, maybe).

I’m not sure I really have a current favorite of either.  I’ve seen a lot of movies that I really loved and many books that I’ve enjoyed immensely.

I’ll start with movies.  For a very long time my favorite movie was Heathers.

It was definitely a period piece with Winona Ryder and Christian Slater.  It was an 80s dark comedy about teenage angst, popularity and rebellion, simultaneously making fun of all these things.

Like many of my favorite things, it is also eminently quotable:

[writing in diary] Betty Finn was a true friend and I sold her out for a bunch of Swatch dogs and Diet Coke heads.

– Winona Ryder’s Character “Veronica Sawyer”

As for books, I don’t have one favorite, but my taste tend to run towards horror fiction or fantasy.  I’m a big fan of Clive Barker and Stephen King and have even dabbled in some Dean Koontz.  Right now, I’m reading The Colour of Magic from Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series.  I went through my classics phase, reading Dracula and Frankenstein; and my Eldritch Horror phase reading the works of H.P. Lovecraft and related authors.  I’ve also started reading through the Wizard of Oz books.

I read before bed every night, so I’ve always got something keyed up on the Kindle app on my Android phone.

So, what about you: What’s your favorite book and movie?

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

2 Responses to Table Topics Thursday Topic 13

  1. Sandi Hankinson says:

    Much like our Toastmaster, selecting ONE true favorite book and movie is a difficult decision for me. I’m challenged by the task.

    I find myself debating that famous old question of being stranded on a desert island and you can only bring one of each. Having actually had that experience of being stranded on a desert island for a week, I made my previous choice a Patricia Cornwell novel. I don’t think I would repeat that selection. Not to imply that her writings were unsatisfactory, but to say that she was my “favorite” would be completely unfair to so many other talented authors.

    I, too, have run the gamut from classic literature to science fiction, horror, mystery, true crime and several non fiction subjects of interest. I also have a nine year old and find myself engrossed in her extensive Eric Carle collection and several Magic Tree House stories a lot more than I would really care to admit to these days. I often ponder whether or not Captain Underpants need ever have been published, but I’ll leave that for a different Table Topic.

    My first real reading experiences were from books based on movies which I had already seen. It was how I learned to visualize. It was how I first understood that you can “see” what was happening in a book by “seeing” in your mind what you were reading. Those books were The Omen, The Excorcist, and The Godfather. All three are still among my favorites, in books and in movies. Admittedly, I was far too old to not have grasped this concept sooner.

    I still enjoy the classics from my childhood. I have read every Judy Blume, every Encyclopedia Brown, and every Little House on the Prairie book ever written. My favorite in this genre is Bunnicula by James and Deborah Howe. It is the story of a vampire bunny. It is so cleverly narrated by Harold, the family dog, and remains my one true favorite, a story I could read and have read over and over again. I have shared this book with my nephew, my daughter, and countless students in my fifteen years of teaching.

    My apologies to Stephen King, Dean R. Koontz, Agatha Christie, Edgar Allen Poe, V.C. Andrews, Mario Puzo, John Grisham, and all of the other authors in the world who have brought me endless hours of enjoyment as I unraveled their mysteries and sat on the edge of my seat through their graphic tales of horror. Bunnicula would have to be my choice. When Chester the cat tries to attack poor Bunnicula with a hunk of red meat because he reads that vampires can be killed with a “steak” through the heart, well, it cracks me up every time… My favorite book is Bunnicula.

    As for favorite movies, I am not a connoisseur. Again, I feel obligated to mention Stephen King. I will sit and watch Carrie, The Shining, and The Stand every single time they are shown on television.

    I have loved some musicals: Rocky Horror Picture Show, Grease, Annie, and Little Shop of Horrors, all movies containing a soundtrack to which I could sing along, and still do when I happen to catch the tune in my head. I would be remiss not to mention the classsics like To Kill a Mockingbird and all of the old Abbott and Costello movies. I still quote lines from some of them, knowing that sometimes I am the only one who appreciates the reference. I will watch pretty much anything starring Tom Hanks, Gary Sinese, or Tommy Lee Jones. I have seen several times And the Band Played On and All the President’s Men and would be happy to watch them again any time. Twister, Volcano, and Sweet Home Alabama make the list of movies I would watch again if they happened to be showing. Series movies like Harry Potter, Star Wars (old is preferred, but newer is still okay), Xmen, Indiana Jones, Men in Black, and The Mummy also hold a special place in my heart, but I digress.

    Being asked to select a favorite, that ONE movie that always gets me, draws me in every time, the one I could watch over and over and never be bored to see, that title has to go to the original Omen, starring Gregory Peck. I have watched this movie probably a hundred times and I still jump at the scary parts, still find myself drawn in by the tension created, and especially the subtle smile on little Damien’s face at the end of the movie. “Let it be written that he who hath knowledge and understanding count the number of the beast, for it is a human number, and that number is 666.” My favorite movie is The Omen.

    See you in hell, Mr. Thorn. (shiver)

    • Wow. Great comment! Very well thought out. Thanks!

What do you think?

