Word of the Week Wednesday: falderal


This Wednesday’s Word of the Week is: falderal

Falderal (also foderol or folderal) means useless nonsense, a worthless trinket or a waste of time.

This is another old-timey word that I particularly like.  It also sounds quite whimsical to my ear like something bright and shiny but ultimately worthless.

It began as a nonsense word in the refrain of a song, akin to “tra la la” or “obla di obla dah“.  It also reminds me of the Happy Wanderer song.

Val-deri,Val-dera,
Val-deri,
Val-dera-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha
Val-deri,Val-dera.
My knapsack on my back.

 

 

 

 

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

What do you think?

