Table Topics Thursday: Topic 14


This Thursday’s Table Topics Question is: Would you rather live by the beach or in the mountains?

I realize that this is similar to a previous topic (or at least lends itself to a similar answer).

Last time, I had a hard time choosing between and, given that I enjoy where I live now (closer to beach than mountain), I would choose beach.

I’m going to pull the old “nice place to visit…” cliché now.  I’ve visited the mountains before and enjoyed it.  However, I do enjoy living in a beach town.  Never mind that I almost never actually visit the beach.

Maybe it’s just the idea of the beach.  I enjoy the salt smell of the sea.  I like the sound of gulls.

So, to live, I would choose the sea.

So, what about you: Would you rather live by the beach or in the mountains?

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

One Response to Table Topics Thursday: Topic 14

  1. sacil says:

    I absolutely love the sound of the ocean and wish I lived closer to a beach. One of my best memories of Jamaica is sleeping next to the ocean and hearing the waves. During my quick trip to Nags Head, I took a nap on the beach, which I haven’t done since high school.

    The mountains are nice to visit. But my ideal living place is definitely the beach.

What do you think?

