Table Topics Thursday: Topic 15


This Thursday’s Table Topic is: List three countries you’d like to visit, and why you want to go.

Picking three could be a challenge.  But let’s start with the easy one.

My first choice would have to be Ireland.  This is where my mother’s people came from and I’ve always heard great things about it.  I’ve heard that it’s an absolutely beautiful country and I’ve always been proud of my Irish heritage.  I’d love to go there and connect to it.  I might even do some genealogical research during my visit.  I’ve also always loved the sound of a brogue and wouldn’t mind visiting a Toastmasters club there and listen to them speak.

Since the other half of my matrilineal heritage is from England, I wouldn’t mind visiting there since I’d be in the area any way.  I’d do all the touristy things and visit all the historical landmarks.

Not to be too Eurocentric, but for my third visit, I’d probably choose Germany.  While I do have a small bit of German heritage, this trip would be less for genealogy, and more just for sight-seeing.

Now, for full disclosure, I must admit that I’m not much for traveling; I’ve never left the country and the farthest from the East Coast I’ve gone is to St. Louis, so these trips aren’t likely.

But if I did travel, these would probably be the places I’d like to go.

So now it’s your turn: List three countries you’d like to visit, and why you want to go.

 

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

One Response to Table Topics Thursday: Topic 15

  1. Jim Kingsepp says:

    If you are anything like me, you’re not getting any younger. Go already.

What do you think?

