Table Topics Thursday: Topic 16


The topic for this Table Topics Thursday is: What do you want to be remembered for?

I would like to be remembered less for anything I’ve done and more for the type of person I am.

Keeping in mind what I’ve previously mentioned about what I believe to be the limits of self-knowledge, I would hope to be remembered for being smart and funny but more so for being a genuinely kind and helpful person.

Above all, I hope people I love will find happiness remembering me.

I think the very touching Cure song, “Treasure” says it best:

She whispers
“please remember me
When I am gone from here”
She whispers
“please remember me
But not with tears…
Remember I was always true
Remember that I always tried
Remember I loved only you
Remember me and smile…
For it’s better to forget
Than to remember me
And cry”

“remember I was always true
Remember that I always tried
Remember I loved only you
Remember me and smile…
For it’s better to forget
Than to remember me
And cry… “

Of course, I wouldn’t mind being known as the world’s greatest public speaker and a legendary Toastmaster.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

What do you think?

