Word of the Week Wednesday: anecdote and antidote


This Wednesday’s Word of the Week is a twofer.  The words are anecdote and antidote.

These words are unrelated.  An anecdote is a short, usually amusing story and an antidote is a remedy for poison or, figuratively, for anything negative.

I’m presenting the two words together because I’ve noticed how often they’re used in place of each other in speech, or at least sound as if they are.

What I’ve noticed more often than someone saying “antidote” when they mean “anecdote” is that both words tend to sound identical when not fully pronounced.

Many people will not pronounce the c in anecdote and will also not pronounce the first t in antidote.  As a result, both words tend to come out sounding like an-uh-dote.

While this confusion occasionally manifests in the written word, I  suspect that that’s probably an outgrowth of hearing them as the same word.

So, that’s my weekly dose of pedantry.  Join me next Wednesday for more.

 

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

2 Responses to Word of the Week Wednesday: anecdote and antidote

  1. Pingback: The Antidote of My Dejection | Stories of My Wandering Feet & Mind

  2. Pingback: Special Occasion Speeches: The Roast « On Language

What do you think?

