Word of the Week Wednesday: discombobulate


This Wednesday’s Word of the Week is: discombobulate

I picked this word just because it’s fun.

Discombobulate means confuse, befuddle or flummox.

It’s quite an informal word, almost slangy.  It also lends itself to self-deprecation.

It gives the impression that one is admitting to not having all of one’s pieces in the right places; all one’s “bob” misplaced.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

2 Responses to Word of the Week Wednesday: discombobulate

  1. Thanks, Dan. I love the referral to my blog.

  2. The Hook says:

    That is a fun word!

What do you think?

