Word of the Week Wednesday: concupiscence


This Wednesday’s Word of the Week is: concupiscence

Concupiscence mean a strong yearning or desire, usual is a sensual or carnal sense.

Since I strive to keep this blog PG-13, I chose the image of cupid rather than the many, many more explicit images that Google Image Search returns.

I also chose the image  because the words share the same Latin root: cupere, to long for.

It’s basically a fancy latinate word for lust.  As a result, I learned the word while growing up going to Catholic School.

 

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

3 Responses to Word of the Week Wednesday: concupiscence

  1. Jim Kingsepp says:

    ‘Concupiscence’ in the Catholic sense is simply the inclination to sin and is associated with the stain of original sin. The idea is that the physical world (including the flesh and the appetites of the flesh) is an obstacle to man’s ultimate communion with God.

    • Thanks, Jim.

  2. The Hook says:

    Thank you for expanding my vocabulary as well as entertaining me when I desperately need it – at work!

What do you think?

