Word of the Week Wednesday: rapscallion


This Wednesday’s Word of the Week is: rapscallion.

Rapscallion is another word for a scamp, a rogue or a rascal.

The connotation of the word is a trouble-maker who is mischievous rather than mean-spirited or truly harmful.

The word makes me think of those window-clings of Calvin peeing on things (often a rival sports team).

I generally find them obnoxious but more or less harmless (much as one might find a rapscallion).

The word always sticks in my mind from the song: “Be Italian” from the musical “Nine”.  I never saw the musical, but the performed the number during on of the Jerry Lewis Labor Day Telethons when I was growing up.

Neither the memory, the musical, nor the word itself are overwhelming positive to me, but I suppose it’s just how my memory works.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

2 Responses to Word of the Week Wednesday: rapscallion

  1. Pingback: Word of the Week Wednesday: contumacious « On Language

  2. The Hook says:

    I’ve always loved this one!

What do you think?

