Word of the Week Wednesday: bifurcate


This Wednesday’s Word of the Week is: bifurcate.

To bifurcate is to split in two.  Specifically to fork into two parts.

What I like about this word is that it’s an overly fancy word for something simple, that could be used to describe a violent action.

It’s the same reason I’ve always liked the word defenestrate: to throw (a person or thing) out a window.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

4 Responses to Word of the Week Wednesday: bifurcate

  1. Bee - http://allofbee.wordpress.com/ says:

    I’m totally telling my boyfriend that I want to defenestrate him 🙂 thanks!

    • Glad you enjoyed it. Hope your boyfriend forgives me for giving you ideas. 🙂

  2. Thank you for including my link in your post.
    Sandra

  3. Pingback: Word of the Week Wednesday: exsanguinate. « On Language

What do you think?

