Word of the Week Wednesday: phatic


This Wednesday’s Word of the Week is: phatic.

Phatic is an adjective used to refer to speech with the purpose of forming social connections of good will and friendliness as opposed to speech used primarily to share information.

I suppose, if you’re forceful enough, you could present a phatic speech that’s also emphatic.

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

One Response to Word of the Week Wednesday: phatic

  1. darksidjen says:

    Ooo! I like this one. I also think that I might have managed to pull off a phatic speech that’s emphatic once or twice.

    But that could just be me being cocky!

What do you think?

