Word of the Week Wednesday: mumpsimus


This Wednesday’s Word of the Week is: mumpsimus.

A mumpsimus is a persistence in an error of language or usage which is the opposite of sumpsimus, which is a strict adherence to proper language or usage.

I think this is just an inherently funny word.

I comes from a story about an illiterate preacher who continued to use mumpsimus in his sermons even after having been informed that the word should be sumpsimus the 1st person plural perfect form of the Latin verb sumere meaning “we took (communion)”

 

About Dan Kingsepp, ACS, ALS
I'm starting this blog to share my thought on the use of the English language and my experiences as a Toastmaster.

One Response to Word of the Week Wednesday: mumpsimus

  1. Mitch9 says:

    Well….I think that it was nice of you not to mention me by name! LOL…Carsophogas!

What do you think?

